The Polygon Gallery A Finalist For The 2023 Mies Crown Hall Americas Prize

The Polygon Gallery was recently announced as one of six finalists for the 2023 Mies Crown Hall Americas Prize. The prize, which is bestowed biennially but has not been awarded since 2018 on account of the Covid-19 pandemic, recognizes the best built work in the Americas completed between December 2018 and June 2021. The winner will be announced on March 24. ⁠

Click here to see the rest of the finalists and learn more about the prize. ⁠

On behalf of everyone at The Polygon, a very proud congratulations to John and Patricia Patkau, and Peter Suter of Patkau Architects for this prestigious honour. Their awards for architectural excellence for The Polygon also include: ⁠
2021 – RIBA International Award for Excellence⁠
2021 – AIA Architecture Award⁠
2020 – Governor General’s Medal in Architecture⁠
2019 – Lieutenant Governor of British Columbia Medal in Architecture⁠

About The Mies Crown Hall Americas Prize⁠
Founded in 2012 in Chicago, the award recognizes excellence in built works of architecture in the Americas. Architectural prizes are generally awarded to those that achieve design excellence. The Mies Crown Hall Americas Prize defines excellence more widely, through design’s essential connections to the communities and ecologies of our changing world. ⁠

Image: James Dow.